The Wisdom of Simplicity: The Fisherman and the Businessman

The-widom-of-simplicitySource: FocusNjoy

I read this parable sometime ago and I loved it!

I like to do many many things and I usually spend money travelling, going out for dinner, drinking a nice wine, shopping, etc. I like a good life! however, small things and simple things makes me happy. Being with friends and family, reading books, writting, drinking coffee, and other things for which I don’t need lots of money make me happy.

Fortunately, I have always been lucky and quite creative, so I usually find the way to get some extra cash to keep on doing things I love. The jobs I have found so far and which I really enjoy are mostly volunteering (Yes, I chose development sector, helping the people and the environment is not very profitable) but I usually start a small business aside or find a small job and voilà problem solve. I haven’t earned lots of money but I have done many many many things and I love having time to do all those things.

For me doing what you love is very important.  If you love your job you won’t feel like you are working, you will feel that you are getting paid for doing what you enjoy doing. Isn’t it great? The current system and the world we are living in tell us something different: Go to school, go to university, get your bachelor, get your masters cause with a bachelor is not enough, find a job, a well paid job, buy a house, get marry, get children, work and work (even if you don’t like you job), make money (cause you have to pay the bills) and then when you are retired you can enjoy your time and your money, travel, read the news, walk, etc….. But that’s not what I think, I have follow many of those ‘modern’ thoughts, I studied, I did a bachelor and a masters but still I had time to travel, have coffee and luch with friends, enjoy the time with my family etc….. that’s why I love the parable of the fisherman and the businessman.

Enjoy it and Keep it Pure and Simple!

There  was once a businessman who was sitting by the beach in a small  Brazilian village. As he sat, he saw a Brazilian fisherman rowing a  small boat towards the shore having caught quite a few big fish.

The  businessman was impressed and asked the fisherman, “How long does it  take you to catch so many fish?” The fisherman replied, “Oh, just a  short while.”
“Then why don’t you stay longer at sea and catch even more?” The businessman was astonished.
“This is enough to feed my whole family,” the fisherman said.
The businessman then asked, “So, what do you do for the rest of the day?”
The  fisherman replied, “Well, I usually wake up early in the morning, go  out to sea and catch a few fish, then go back and play with my kids. In  the afternoon, I take a nap with my wife, and evening comes, I join my  buddies in the village for a drink — we play guitar, sing and dance  throughout the night.”

The businessman offered a  suggestion to the fisherman. “I am a PhD in business management. I could  help you to become a more successful person. From now on, you should  spend more time at sea and try to catch as many fish as possible. When  you have saved enough money, you could buy a bigger boat and catch even  more fish. Soon you will be able to afford to buy more boats, set up  your own company, your own production plant for canned food and  distribution network. By then, you will have moved out of this village  and to Sao Paulo, where you can set up HQ to manage your other  branches.”

The fisherman continues, “And after that?”
The  businessman laughs heartily, “After that, you can live like a king in  your own house, and when the time is right, you can go public and float  your shares in the Stock Exchange, and you will be rich.”
The fisherman asks, “And after that?”
The  businessman says, “After that, you can finally retire, you can move to a  house by the fishing village, wake up early in the morning, catch a few  fish, then return home to play with kids, have a nice afternoon nap  with your wife, and when evening comes, you can join your buddies for a  drink, play the guitar, sing and dance throughout the night!”
The fisherman was puzzled, “Isn’t that what I am doing now?

Author: Unknown

@ivettemb & @jeffinergon

3 thoughts on “The Wisdom of Simplicity: The Fisherman and the Businessman

Leave a Reply

